If you have been convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania, you may have been ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. In fact, Pennsylvania is one of 20 states in the nation that requires all DUI offenders to have interlock devices installed, according to the National Conference of State Legislators. This includes first time offenders who have no prior DUI convictions, as well as people who refuse to submit to a chemical test. What are ignition interlock devices and what are the regulations surrounding their use?
In Pennsylvania, there are instances in which residents who are pulled over for routine traffic stops may later be suspected of driving while under the influence (DUI). Not only will they be facing different tests to determine their blood alcohol content (BAC) level, but they may also potentially need to know where their legal rights are in terms of police drawing blood or searching their vehicle.
If you have ever wondered exactly what happens when a person is asked to perform a field sobriety test by officers, you are not alone. Many people in Pennsylvania have heard stories about these tests or maybe even seen some versions of them portrayed on television or in movies but they may not fully understand what is involved.
Residents of Pennsylvania must abide by the law of implied consent. Implied consent determines that if you are driving, you have implied that you will consent to any breath analysis test if an officer decides to administer one. While some people may think it's better to refuse taking this test, Marros Law Office will show to you why that's not the best decision.
If you are like most people in Pennsylvania who have been arrested for and charged with drunk driving, you will want to understand how you might defend yourself in this situation. It may well seem that you have few rights but the reality is that you always have the right to a defense when facing criminal charges as this is a fundamental tenet of the criminal justice system.
If you've been charged with DUI-related crimes in Pennsylvania, you may have heard that there are programs available to help clear your record. Marros Law Office is here to guide you as you learn more about your options, including the ARD program.
Pennsylvanian residents may believe that blowing over a 0.08 percent on a breath analyzer is the end of the road for them. Fortunately, Marros Law Office is here to help you through your difficult DUI-related charge and show you that things aren't as simple as that.
Pennsylvania residents who are under suspicion of drinking while driving will usually be subjected to two different types of tests: field sobriety tests and breathalyzer tests. These tests are crucial to law enforcement officers, who use them to determine what a person's charges should be.
Pennsylvania law takes a three-tiered approach to driving under the influence. If you are convicted of DUI, your penalties will depend upon which level your blood alcohol content falls under and whether or not you have had any prior DUI convictions.
Imagine that while driving through York, you are stopped by a law enforcement officer. You did have a drink a few hours past, yet felt as though you waited a sufficient amount of time for it to not affect your judgment or your driving abilities. When asked to take a breathalyzer test, however, you register a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08 percent, which you know is enough to be arrested for DUI. Yet an hour later, a blood test is administered which shows your BAC to be 0.02. You see this as proof that the earlier test was wrong. Your arresting officer, however, says that your body has just metabolized the alcohol in that time. Is that possible?